The Technical Community on Services Computing (TCSVC) sponsors professional meetings, publishes newsletters and/or bulletins, edits magazines & journals, conducts standards activities guided by IEEE Computer Society Standard Activity Board (SAB), provides guidance to the IEEE Computer Society matters of importance of the community, as well as help co-ordinate academic, funding agency, and industry activities in the aforementioned areas. It recognizes outstanding individuals and team efforts annually at its financially sponsored conferences via various awards (with/without cash prizes) with the goal of inspiring members of the services computing community and facilitating transdisciplinary collaborations. The awards include IEEE TCSVC Awards and conference awards sponsored in part by IEEE TCSVC.


IEEE TCSVC Outstanding Leadership Award (OLA) recognizes one individual for her/his outstanding leadership contributions to the services community and to the field of services computing, and her/his leadership and visionary contributions to society at large through promotion and applications of services computing technologies.

IEEE TCSVC Research Innovation Award (RIA) recognizes one individual or one group of a few collaborators whose outstanding technical innovations in the field of services computing have had a lasting impact. The contributions must have significantly influenced the direction of research and development of the field, transferred theory to practice in significant and innovative ways, and/or enabled delivery of impactful commercial service products/systems/solutions.

IEEE TCSVC Outstanding Service Award (OSA) recognizes one individual for her/his outstanding services to building the services computing community with significant and persistent volunteer efforts, such as services to IEEE TCSVC activities worldwide, to annual events of IEEE World Congress on Services (SERVICES), and/or to IEEE Transactions on Services Computing. A strong publication record is not required.

IEEE TCSVC Rising Star Award (RSA) recognizes promising individuals who are in the early stages of their independent research careers, and have made outstanding, impactful, and potentially long-lasting contributions to the science and engineering of Services Computing (e.g., tangible contributions to open-source data and/or software that accelerate as-a-service innovations). A qualified nomination package must provide factual data showing nominee has earned a doctorate no more than 10 years before, or is below the age of 40 as of, January 1st of the year of the award.

IEEE TCSVC Women in Services Computing Award (WISCA) recognizes women leaders who have demonstrated long-standing, sustained, and impactful contributions to Service Computing practice and/or research; providing a female role model for young women pursuing a professional career in Services Computing. A strong publication record is not required. Pivotal contributions to Diversity & Inclusion (D&I) and/or women in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math) will be considered.

Call for nominations for this year’s IEEE TCSVC Awards with cash prizes is due Sunday, June 2, 2024 and will be publicized through IEEE-CS TCSVC social media channels. Awards ceremony will be held at the annual IEEE World Congress on Services (SERVICES) and be publicized through IEEE Computer Society’s YouTube Channel. IEEE SERVICES 2023 is affiliated with six technical conferences, focusing on cloud computing (CLOUD), edge computing & communications (EDGE), digital health (ICDH), web-based services (ICWS), quantum software (QSW), and software services engineering (SSE).


  • A qualified nominee must have contributed to the technical conferences and/or IEEE Transactions on Services Computing (TSC) that are endorsed by IEEE TCSVC.
  • Qualified nominees that have made great contributions to services computing R&D and are still active in the IEEE services computing community will be considered with a higher priority.
  • Qualified candidates exclude the IEEE TCSVC Chair, the IEEE TCSVC Awards Committee Chair, past IEEE TCSVC awardees.
  • Nominees that have not been recognized with an IEEE international award will be reviewed with a higher priority.

Nomination Process

  • Anyone in the field can nominate and/or support only one person per award category. Self-nominations are not accepted.
  • Each individual may nominate only one qualified candidate.
  • The nominator is responsible for ensuring the nominee’s qualification.
  • The nominator must furnish a factual summary detailing the nominee’s contributions to research and development in services computing, as well as their involvement in activities within the IEEE services computing community in recent years.
  • Every nomination should include a proposed citation (up to 25 words), a detailed statement to justify the nomination (500 words or less), and a URL to an English professional/team home page of the nominee. English CV of the nominee is required if a hyperlink to the CV is not available from the provided home page URL.
  • Two supporting letters are required for each nomination with no requirements on number of words. The letters should address the significance of the contributions cited in the nomination. The nominator can author one supporting letter in addition to the nomination statement.
  • Nominations that did not result in an award can be resubmitted or updated in subsequent years.
  • The Awards Committee will decide on zero or more winners for each award category.

Submission Email

  • Every nomination package should be submitted via email to with text TCSVC Awards Nomination, award category, and the nominee’s name on the Subject line (e.g., TCSVC Awards Nomination, RSA, Bob Alan).
  • Every nomination email should not include several nomination packages.
  • It is better to package all nomination files into one email. Should more than one email needs be sent for a specific nomination package, please use the same email subject.
  • All submitted email will be reviewed only by members of Awards Committee on a need-to-know basis.

Awards Committee Chair

Past Awardees (ordered by year and family name)

Conference Awards Sponsored in part by IEEE TCSVC

Besides the IEEE TCSVC Awards, TCSVC also supports various awards with cash prizes at its financially sponsored conferences, namely IEEE World Congress on Services (SERVICES) and IEEE Cloud Computing in Emerging Markets (CCEM).