IEEE Conference on Electronic Commerce


IEEE 6th Conference on E-Commerce Technology

July 6-9, 2004, Westin Hotel, San Diego, California, USA,

Sponsored by IEEE Technical Committee on Electronic Commerce
California Institute for Telecommunications and Information Technology


IEEE CEC'04 is the 6th annual event (formerly WECWIS) and the primary forum for the exchange of information regarding advancements in the state of the art and practice of e-commerce technology and Web-based information systems.

CEC’04 will consist of tutorials, invited talks, paper presentations, panel discussions and workshops. Submissions of high quality papers describing mature results or innovative work are invited.

Topics for submission include but are not limited to:

  • E-Business process integration and management
  • Business intelligence, decision support and data mining in e-commerce
  • E-Commerce architecture and enabling technologies
  • E-procurement and auction systems
  • Grid services and service-oriented software design
  • Intelligent e-commerce system & agents
  • Multimedia web services & applications
  • P2P & its application on e-commerce
  • QoS e-commerce support & monitoring
  • Real-time Internet technologies and scheduling protocols
  • Security & trust issues in e-commerce
  • Transaction & work-flow managemen
  • Web services & middleware



Full papers must not exceed 12 pages printed using at least 11-point type and single spacing. All papers should be in Adobe portable document format (PDF) or PostScript format. All papers selected for this conference are peer-reviewed and will be published in the regular conference proceedings with a CD-ROM version published by the IEEE Computer Society Press. Submissions must not be published or submitted for another conference. The best papers presented in the conference will be selected for a special issue of a related computer science journal.


Important Dates:

  • Submissions must be received no later than January 10, 2004.

  • Submission extended to January 19, 2004.
  • Authors will be notified of their submission’s status by March 25, 2004

  • Camera-Ready versions must be received by April 23, 2004

  • Conference start July 6, 2004

Program Comittee


  • Karl Aberer, Swiss Fed. Inst. Of Tech., EPFL, Switzerland
  • Mikhail Atallah, Purdue University, Indiana
  • Elisa Bertino, Univ. di Milano, Italy
  • Felix Brandt, CMU, USA
  • Christof Bussler, National University of Ireland, Ireland
  • Deren Chen, Zhejiang Univ, China
  • Ludmila Cherkasova, HP, USA
  • Thorsten Eymann, University of Freiburg, Germany
  • Bezalel Gavish, Vanderbilt University, USA
  • Sumi Helal, University of Florida, USA
  • Jane Hsu, NTU, Taiwan
  • Peter In, Korea University, Korea
  • Alfons Kemper, University of Passau, Germany
  • Ramayya Krishnan, CMU, USA
  • Rick Mathieu, Saint Louis University, USA
  • Herman Lam, University of Florida, USA
  • Winfried Lamersdorf, University of Hamburg, Germany
  • Florian Matthes, TU Munich, Germany
  • Rakesh Mohan IBM Research, USA
  • Birgit Pröll, FAW, University of Linz, Austria
  • Gerald Quirchmayr, University of South Australia, Australia
  • Johann Schlichter, TU Munich, Germany
  • Ming-Chien Shan, HP, USA
  • Mike Shaw, University of Illinois, USA
  • Simon Shim, San Jose State U., USA
  • Von-Wun Soo, NTHU, Taiwan
  • A Min Tjoa, Technical University of Vienna, Austria
  • Jeffrey Tsai, UIC, USA
  • Andreas Wombacher, Frauenhofer Institute (IPSI), Germany
  • Tian Zhong, IBM China Research Lab, China
  • Jia Zhang, Computer Science department of Northern Illinois University, USA
  • Kun-Lung Wu, IBM Research, USA

Related Events